skip navigation
print icon Print

State Agencies

State DOTs

The following list provides links to state transportation agency officials and offices with primary responsibility for NEPA.

Alabama

Alabama Department of Transportation
Design Bureau, Environmental Technical Section
Official: Alfedo Acoff, Environmental Coordinator
Email: acoffa@dot.state.al.us
Phone: (334-242-6143)

[back to top]

Alaska

Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities
Statewide Environmental Office
Official: Ben White, Acting State Environmental Manager
Email: Ben.White@alaska.gov
Phone: (907-465-6961)

[back to top]

Arizona

Arizona Department of Transportation
Official: Paul O’Brien, Manager - Environmental Planning Group
Email: pobrien@azdot.gov
Phone: (602-712-8669)

[back to top]

Arkansas

Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department
Environmental Division
Official: John Fleming, Division Head
Email: john.fleming@ahtd.ar.gov
Phone: (501-569-2526)

[back to top]

California

California Department of Transportation
Division of Environmental Analysis
Official: Jay Norvell, Chief
Email: jay_norvell@dot.ca.gov
Phone: (916-653-7136)

[back to top]

Colorado

Colorado Department of Transportation
Environmental Programs Branch
Official: Jane N. Hann, Manager
Email: Jane.Hann@dot.state.co.us
Phone: (303-757-9630)

[back to top]

Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Transportation
Office of Intermodal and Environmental Planning
Official: Edgar T. Hurle, Director
Email: Edgar.Hurle@po.state.ct.us
Phone: (860-594-2005)

[back to top]

Delaware

Delaware Department of Transportation
Division of Transportation Solutions, Engineering Support, Environmental Studies
Official: Terry Fulmer, Environmental Studies Manager
Email: terry.fulmer@state.de.us
Phone: (302-760-2280)

[back to top]

D.C.

District of Columbia Department of Transportation
Policy, Planning, and Sustainability Administration, Environmental Program
Official: Faisal Hameed, Manager, Project Development & Environment Branch Email: Faisal.Hameed@dc.gov
Phone: (202-671-2326)

[back to top]

Florida

Florida Department of Transportation
Environmental Management Office
Official: Marjorie Bixby, Manager
Email: marjorie.bixby@dot.state.fl.us
Phone: (850-414-5209)

[back to top]

Georgia

Georgia Department of Transportation
Official: Glenn Bowman P.E., State Environmental/Location Engineer
Email: gbowman@dot.ga.gov
Phone: (404-631-1101)

[back to top]

Hawaii

Hawaii State Department of Transportation
Highways Division, Planning Branch
Official: Ken Tatsuguchi Head Planning Engineer
Email: ken.tatsuguchi@hawaii.gov
Phone: (808-587-1830)

[back to top]

Idaho

Idaho Transportation Department
Division of Highways, Environmental Section
Official: Sue Sullivan, Manager
Email: sue.sullivan@itd.idaho.gov
Phone: (208-334-8203)

[back to top]

Illinois

Illinois Department of Transportation
Division of Highways, Bureau of Design and Environment
Barbara Stevens, Chief, Environment Section
Email: stevensbh@dot.il.gov
Phone: (217-785-4245)

[back to top]

Indiana

Indiana Department of Transportation
Environmental Services
Official: Laura Hilden, Director
Email: lhilden@indot.in.gov
Phone: (317) 232-5018

[back to top]

Iowa

Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Location & Environment
Official: Jim Rost, Director
Email: James.Rost@dot.iowa.gov
Phone: (515-239-1225)

[back to top]

Kansas

Kansas Department of Transportation
Bureau of Design, Environmental Services Section
Official: Scott Vogel, Chief
Email: vogel@ksdot.org
Phone: (785-296-0853)

[back to top]

Kentucky

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
Department of Highways, Division of Environmental Analysis
Official: David Waldner P.E., Director
Email: david.waldner@ky.gov
Phone: (502-564-7250)

[back to top]

Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Transportation & Development
Environmental Section
Official: Eric I. Kalivoda, Assistant Secretary, Office of Planning and Programming
Email: Eric.Kalivoda@la.gov
Phone: (225-379-1248)

[back to top]

Maine

Maine Department of Transportation
Environmental Office
Official: Judy Gates, Director
Email: judy.gates@maine.gov
Phone: (207-624-3100)

[back to top]

Maryland

Maryland Department of Transportation
Maryland State Highway Administration, Office of Environmental Design
Officials:

Bruce Grey  
Deputy Director, Office of Planning and Prelim. Engineering 
Phone Number (410) 545-8540
E-mail Address: bgrey@sha.state.md.us

Sonal Sanghavi  
Director, Office of Environmental Design 
Maryland Department of Transportation
State Highway Administration
Phone Number (410) 545-8640
E-mail Address: SSanghavi@sha.state.md.us

[back to top]

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Highway Department
Environmental Services Division
Official: Kevin M. Walsh, Director
E-Mail: Kevin.m.walsh@state.ma.us, Phone: (617) 973-7484

[back to top]

Michigan

Michigan Department of Transportation
Bureau of Transportation Planning, Project Planning Division ( Featured Programs)
Margaret Barondess, Environmental Section
Phone: 517-335-2621
E-mail: barondessm@michigan.gov

[back to top]

Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Transportation
Office of Environmental Services
Official: Frank Pafko, Director
Email: frank.pafko@dot.state.mn.us
Phone: (651-366-3602)

[back to top]

Mississippi

Mississippi Department of Transportation
Environmental Division
Official: Kim D. Thurman, Administrator
Email: kthurman@mdot.state.ms.us
Phone: (601-359-7922)

[back to top]

Missouri

Missouri Department of Transportation
Design Division
Official: Gayle Unruh, Environmental and Historic Preservation Manager
Email: gayle.unruh@modot.mo.gov
Phone: (573-526-6676)

[back to top]

Montana

Montana Department of Transportation
Preconstruction Program, Environmental Services Bureau
Official: Tom Martin P.E., Bureau Chief
Email: tomartin@mt.gov 
Phone: (406) 444-0879

[back to top]

Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Roads
Planning and Project Development Division, Environmental Section
Official: Michael H. Owen, Engineer, Planning and Project Development Division
Email: Mike.Owen@nebraska.gov
Phone: (402-479-4795)

[back to top]

Nevada

Nevada Department of Transportation
Environmental Services Division
Official: Steve M. Cooke P.E., Chief
Email: scooke@dot.state.nv.us
Phone: (775-888-7686)

[back to top]

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Department of Transportation
Bureau of Environment
Official: Charlie Hood, Administrator
Email: chood@dot.state.nh.us
Phone: (603-271-3226)

[back to top]

New Jersey

New Jersey Department of Transportation
Division of Environmental Resources and Context Sensitive Solutions
Official: Elkins Green, Director
Email: elkins.green@ dot.state.nj.us
Phone: (609-530-8075)

[back to top]

New Mexico

New Mexico Department of Transportation
Environmental Design Division
Official: Jeff Fredline, Acting Bureau Chief, Cultural Resources Bureau
Email: jeffrey.fredline@state.nm.us
Phone: (505-827-5681)

[back to top]

New York

New York Department of Transportation
Engineering Division, Office of Environment
Official: John Zamurs Ph.D., Head, Air Quality Section
Email: jzamurs@dot.state.ny.us
Phone: (518-457-5646)

[back to top]

North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Transportation
Project Development and Environmental Analysis Branch
Official: Gregory Thorpe Ph.D, Manager
Email: gthorpe@ncdot.gov
Phone: (919-733-3141)

Environmental Functions 

 

[back to top]

North Dakota

North Dakota Department of Transportation
Environmental and Transportation Services Division
Official: Mark Gaydos, Director
Email: mgaydos@nd.gov
Phone: (701-328-4417)

[back to top]

Ohio

Ohio Department of Transportation
Office of Environmental Services
Official: Timothy Hill, Administrator
Email: tim.hill@dot.state.oh.us
Phone: (614-466-7100)

[back to top]

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Department of Transportation
Environmental Programs Division
Official: Dawn Sullivan P.E., Division Engineer
Email: dsullivan@odot.org
Phone: (405-521-2927)

[back to top]

Oregon

Oregon Department of Transportation
Highway-Geo-Environmental Section
Official: Howard "Hal" A Gard, Manager
Email: howard.a.gard@odot.state.or.us
Phone: (503-986-6389)

[back to top]

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
Official: Gary C. Fawver P.E., Acting Chief
Email: gfawver@state.pa.us
Phone: (717-787-1024)

[back to top]

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico Department of Transportation and Public Works
Puerto Rico Highways and Transportation Authority
Environmental Studies Office
Official: Carmen Alicea, P.E., Chief Supervisor
Email: calicea@act.dtop.gov.pr
Phone: (787-729-1583)

[back to top]

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Transportation
Official: Peter Healey, Supervising Civil Engineer-Environmental and Capital Project
Email: phealey@dot.ri.gov
Phone: (401-222-6940)

[back to top]

S. Carolina

South Carolina Department of Transportation
Environmental Program Office
Official: Randy D. Williamson, Environmental Engineer
Email: williamsrd@scdot.org
Phone: (803-773-1700)

[back to top]

South Dakota

South Dakota Department of Transportation
Division of Planning and Engineering, Environmental Office
Official: Terry Keller, Environmental and Scoping Supervisor
Email: terry.keller@state.sd.us
Phone: (605-773-3721)

[back to top]

Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Transportation
Bureau of Environment and Planning, Environmental Division
Official: Suzanne Herron P.E., Director
Email: suzanne.herron@tn.gov
Phone: (615-741-2612)

[back to top]

Texas

Texas Department of Transportation
Environmental Affairs Division
Official: Dianna Noble, P.E., Director
Email: dnoble@dot.state.tx.us
Phone: (512-416-2734)

[back to top]

Utah

Utah Department of Transportation
Environmental Services
Official: Brandon Weston, Director
Email:brandonweston@utah.gov
Phone: (801-965-4603)

[back to top]

Vermont

Vermont Agency of Transportation
Environmental Program
Official: Craig DiGiammarino, Operations Environmental Program Manager
Email: craig.digiammarino@state.vt.us
Phone: (802-922-4681)

[back to top]

Virginia

Virginia Department of Transportation
Environmental Programs
Official: Stephen Long, Administrator
Email: Steve.Long@vdot.virginia.gov
Phone: (804-371-6831)

[back to top]

Washington

Washington State Department of Transportation
Environmental Services Office
Official: Carol Lee Roalkvam
Email: roalkvc@wsdot.wa.gov
Phone: (360-705-7126)

[back to top]

West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Transportation
Division of Highways, Engineering Division, Environmental Section
Official: Ben Hark, Environmental Section Head
Email: Ben.L.Hark@wv.gov
Phone: (304-558-9670)

[back to top]

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Bureau of Equity and Environmental Services
Official: Dan Scudder, Environmental Services Manager
Email: dan.scudder@dot.wi.gov
Phone: (608-267-3615)

[back to top]

Wyoming

Wyoming Department of Transportation
Engineering and Technical Programs, Environmental Services Program
Official: Timothy L. Stark P.E., Environmental Services Engineer
Email: timothy.stark@dot.state.wy.us
Phone: (307-777-4379)

[back to top]

New - items posted in the last 7 days
(30 days for CLUE and PAL)

AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials)
skip navigation